Friday, July 22, 2016

$100 Back to School PayPal Giveaway (Ends 8/3)!

Meet Your New Favorite Book is thrilled to partner up with all of these amazing bloggers to bring our amazing readers this giveaway! Who could not use $100 PayPal Cash? Enter today and GOOD LUCK!

Hosted by:

Co-Hosted by:

$100 PayPal Cash
~1 Winner~

THank you to all of the bloggers promoting this giveaway! All of our giveaways are so much fun when we do it all together!

Now for the fun stuff! This giveaway is open to the US. There are daily bonus entries for sharing this giveaway on your social media channels. It is okay to share it with your family and friends, they'll want to enter to win too!

I can't ask you to "Like" our pages, but if you see something you like, let us know, so we can bring you more of it!

We LOVE it when you "LIKE" our pages!

None of the bloggers promoting this giveaway are responsible for shipping the prizes. If you have any questions about this giveaway or the prizes, please feel free to email Candy Crush & Snowman Butts at

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

This Is Where It Ends

10:00 a.m. The principal of Opportunity High School finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a  new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.
10:02 a.m. The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.
10:03 a.m. The auditorium doors won't open. 
10:05 a.m. Someone starts shooting. 
Told from four different perspectives over the span of fifty-four farrowing minutes, terror reigns as one student's calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

I read it in a day.

It was a great story and very well written.

I've been wanting to reah it since before it was released and just got a copy off a long hold list from the library. It was well-worth the wait.

This is one of the best YA books I've read in a while. 

In today's society, this book gives an excellent look into something that's been happening all too often, and it gives a glimpse at how it doesn't just affect the injured or killed, but people that didn't show up to school, their families, their friends, their exes...

It also demonstrates how something so terrible can bring people together and connect them in a way they many probably don't understand. 

I wasn't expecting to like this book this much and was very pleasantly surprised. I really just wanted to read it, because I kept seeing things about it. However, I recommend it to anyone, regardless of what genre you usually like.

Monday, July 11, 2016

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth by Lindsey Lee Johnson

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth

A captivating debut novel for readers of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Curtis Sittenfeld's Pret, The Most Dangerous Place on Earth unleashes an unforgettable cast of characters into a realm known for its cruelty and peril: the American high school.
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher Molly Nicoll becomes intrigued by the hidden lives of her privileged students. Unknown to Molly, a middle school tragedy in which they were all complicit continues to reverberate for her kids: Nick, the brilliant scam artist; Emma, the gifted dancer and party girl; Dave, the B student who strives to meet his parents expectations; Calista, the hippie outcast who hides her intelligence for reasons of her own. Theirs is a world in which every action ma become public postable, shareable, indelible. With the rare talent that transforms teenage dramas into compelling and urgent fiction, Lindsey Lee Johnson makes vivid a modern adolescence lived in the gleam of the virtual, but rich with the sorrow, passion, and beauty of life in any time, and at any age.
I didn't really know what to think going into this book, but I really ended up enjoying it.

Slight spoilers, but definitely nothing that will give away even 1/2 of the things that go on in this book... seriously, there's lots of layers to this story. Like an onion seven-layer dip.

It's written from different POVs as stories, within stories, within stories. You start out with the popular girl in middle school who is different from the other popular kids and is kind of nice (or at least not mean) to the school's outcast (except when she is trying to get the attention of the popular boy). Then we get the POV of the outcast, when everything starts to go downhill...

I liked that the story did't just focus on the students' POV. We also get to see what it's like for the bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, straight out of college and a little town in the middle of no where, teacher, who desperately wants to reach her students. First, she just wants to help them learn to feel the way she does about literature, but as she evolves, she just wants to help them.

I also like there we get the POV of the kid who tries harder than everyone else, but his parents still push him as if he's not trying at all. We also get to learn about the guy who doesn't have to try at all and uses his intelligence to make money.

The end wraps up nicely, with the POV of Calista, who started out the book. Not only has she changed her name from Cally to Calista, but she has evolved in many ways, mainly due to the things that transpired in the beginning of the book.

At the end of the book, I really started thinking about the title, which I didn't really consider when I started reading. But by the end, it makes you wonder if maybe the place most people consider perfect is everything but.

This was a great book! I sped through it! Although there were no special powers or creatures, like many of the books I've been reading lately, I really enjoyed it!

I received this book from the publishers, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Friday, July 8, 2016

The Boy Who Spoke to Stars by Reuben Miles

Book one of the Astral String Series.
Secrets. Forgiveness. Death.
Nothing has been right in Kasper's life for quite some time. Then the eclipse comes, and his father is stolen away. When the police arrive, instead of trying to help, they drag off his mother too. Down at the station later, the desk sergeant claims to know nothing about Kasper's mum, and insists that the detective who arrested her doesn't exist.
Loki, Kasper's cousin, is the only one who really understands him. Her parents promise to keep him safe until his mum and dad return, but soon they are gone as well. There's no-one for Kasper and Loki to turn to -- except Tenrō, a dangerous older boy who know more than he should, and claims to be a star...
As they set off into the night, they have no way of knowing what they will have to face. The secrets they are about to uncover will change their lives. Their actions will seal the fates of every living thing in the universe. 
Somewhere in the dark, the truth is waiting. And the stars are watching.

This book was a little confusing, and some of the concepts are a little far-fetched. I'm hoping that the sequel will answer some questions and clear some things up.

Overall, it's a pretty good book... not GREAT, but not bad. 

I read Illuminae (which I have been wanting to read FOREVER), shortly after I read this, and as I am writing the review for The Boy Who Spoke to Stars, I keep mixing the story up with bits and pieces of Illuminae. I don't want to compare the two, but if you like Illuminae, you would probably like this book.

I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I hope it elaborates on the theories and themes in this book. I think this book shows great potential and could be the start to an excellent series.

I received a copy of this book from the publishers, via LibraryThing, in exchange for an honest review.

Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Blogger Opp~$100 Back To School Giveaway (7/20 to 8/3~1 Winner~World Wide)

Hosted by:

Each blogger will receive 2 Free links 

Total ARV $100

Giveaway Date
7/20 to 8/03
Open to US
 Giveaway will be 2 weeks long~ We don't want blank entries.
Candy Crush and Snowman Butts

Announcement NOT Required 
(But very appreciated) 
Most referrals gets a free co-host in an upcoming giveaway (Must have 5 referrals to qualify) 

The more bloggers promoting ~ the bigger the results ~ the more giveaways we get to do together.

This is my first self sponsored giveaway and I want it to be huge for all of us!

Announcement Post  

Co-Host $5 for 5 Links  (+2 free =7 total) plus back link to your blog.
Extra Social Links $1 Limit 3
Adding links like Daily Comments, retweets , pins, Post Shares, etc $2 each, limit 3 (link to specific post required)
email sign ups and Secret Word Pages $2

All proceeds will be used toward promotion for the giveaway, helping us all get extra followers!!

Any payment needed please send to as a friend/gift,

Posting will be required within 24 hours of launch.
If you have any questions about this giveaway please email Kathy at

Monday, July 4, 2016

Children of Icarus by Caighlan Smith

Children of Icarus

It is Clara who is desperate to enter the labyrinth and it is Clara who is bright, strong and fearless enough to take on any challenge. It is no surprise when she is chosen, But so is the girl who has always lived in her shadow. Together they enter. Within minutes, they are torn apart forever. Now the girl who has never left the city walls must fight to survive in a living nightmare, where one false turn with who to trust means a certain dead end.
This book was pretty awesome! It kept me guessing. I couldn't guess what was going to happen next, and I love it when that happens. 

However, the main character made me really angry quite a few times throughout the book! She could have made everything so much easier if she wasn't such a wimp. Although she pulls herself together a little bit more as the book goes on, she seems pretty weak throughout the book. I like it better when authors depict strong lead female characters. I'm just hoping that she ends up being the strong hero as the series goes on.

Disclaimer: This book is not for the squeamish. There are a couple of parts that made me feel a little sick, but it's not pointless gore. Even though there were some 'ewwww' moments, I was ok with it, because it contributed to the story in a big way.

I can't wait to read the next book in this series! I hope the author does a good job at progressing the characters and the labyrinth, and I think this was a wonderful beginning to what can be a great series!

I received this book from the publishers, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.